

## Tariff Design Advisory Group

The AESO has completed its selections for the industry stakeholder group that will advise the AESO on tariff design for allocating costs for capacity and for the bulk and regional transmission system. Members of the AESO's Tariff Design Advisory Group ("Advisory Group") are listed in the table below. The AESO's selections ensure broad diversity and balanced representation of industry stakeholders' interests, as well as the technical expertise required to provide advice for developing a suitable tariff design. We thank all stakeholders who submitted nominations for the Advisory Group.

Stakeholders can stay informed about progress on tariff design by monitoring our <u>website</u> for updates and by subscribing to our <u>newsletter</u>. As indicated in the proposed Advisory Group <u>terms of reference</u>, stakeholders may submit a list of the concerns related to tariff design to the Advisory Group who will then consider these concerns as their work unfolds. Stakeholders are also encouraged to contact the Advisory Group representative(s) (who represents the category to which these stakeholders belong) with concerns throughout the AESO's tariff design consultation. There will also be opportunities for stakeholders to review and provide comments throughout the tariff design consultation process. The AESO plans host open industry sessions throughout this process to keep stakeholders informed and provide opportunities for additional dialogue. Please send any inquiries to ISOtariffnotice@aeso.ca

## About the AESO's selection process for establishing the Tariff Design Advisory Group

At the August 8 kick off session, participants were asked to nominate representatives to serve on the Advisory Group in named stakeholder categories (e.g. "Residential, farm and commercial consumers" and "Industrial Customers.") The AESO also solicited interest from individuals who may wish to serve in two Representative-at-large categories: "Demand rate payer representation" (2 seats) and "Other interested parties" (1 seat).

The self-selection process for the Advisory Group yielded nominations of several highly qualified individuals who offer broad industry representation and considerable expertise. In certain instances the nominations and interest we received exceeded the number of seats available. Please note the AESO has changed the stakeholder category of "Renewables/Energy Storage" in the original proposed terms of reference to "Energy Storage." Also, the representation mandate for the "Generation" category has been expanded to include the interests and concerns of renewable generators.

The table below indicates the representatives who will be participating in the Advisory Group and the categories of stakeholders they represent. Please note that in Advisory Group discussions, members are expected to raise the interests and concerns of the stakeholders they were nominated to represent; members are also expected examine tariff design from perspective of AESO as this relates to developing a tariff application that aligns with the principles indicated in the Terms of Reference and will meet its legislative obligations.

## aeso

Seats allocated	Stakeholder category	Company or Organization representing stakeholders in this category	Representative		
Demand rate payer representation					
4	Residential, farm and commercial consumers	Office of the Utilities Consumer Advocate	Richard Stout		
		Direct Energy <sup>i</sup>	Nicole Black		
		Consumers' Coalition of Alberta (CCA)	Raj Retnanandan		
		Alberta Federation of Rural Electrification Associations	Dan Levson		
2	Industrial consumers	Industrial Power Consumers Association of Alberta (IPCAA)	Vittoria Bellissimo		
		Cenovus <sup>ii</sup>	Grant Pellegrin		
2	Demand Response	Alberta Direct Connect (ADC)	Colette Chekerda		
		Alberta News Print <sup>iii</sup>	Surendra Singh		
2	Combined Load/Generation	Desiderata Energy Consulting Inc. <sup>iv</sup>	Dale Hildebrand		
		Power Advisory <sup>v</sup>	Kris Aksomitis		
2	Distribution facility owners <sup>vi</sup>	ENMAX Corporation	Janene Taylor		
		FortisAlberta	Leland Jernberg		
2	Representative at large	Depal Consulting <sup>vii</sup>	Ed de Palezieux		
		TransCanada Pipelines	Bryan Krawchyshyn		

Other interested parties				
1	Transmission facility owners	AltaLink <sup>viii</sup>	Hao Liu	
1	Generation (includes renewable generation)	Capital Power <sup>ix</sup>	Colin Robb	
1	Energy Storage	EDC Associates <sup>x</sup>	Chris Best	
1	Representative at large	URICA <sup>xi</sup>	Tory Whiteside	

Direct Energy has the endorsement of EPCOR and Spot Power.

<sup>ii</sup> Cenovus was nominated by IPCAA.

<sup>vii</sup> Depal Consulting has the endorsement of Devon Energy.

\* EDC Associates has the endorsement of Energy Storage Canada.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>III</sup> Alberta News Print was nominated by ADC.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>iv</sup> Desiderata Energy Consulting Inc. has the endorsement of Dual Use Customers.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>v</sup> Power Advisory has the endorsement of the Cogeneration Working Group (CWG), comprised of the following members: (1) TransCanada; (2) Suncor; (3) Cenovus; (4) Canadian Natural (CNRL); (5) Dow; (6) Imperial; (7) MEG Energy; (8) Husky; (9) Nova Chemicals Corporation; (10) Syncrude; (11) Lafarge; and (12) InterPipeline.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>vi</sup> ENMAX has the endorsement of the following Distribution Facility Owners: ATCO Electric; Cities of Lethbridge and Red Deer; ENMAX; EPCOR; and Fortis Alberta.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>viii</sup> AltaLink has the endorsement of the following Transmission Facility Owners: ATCO Electric; Enmax; EPCOR; Lethbridge; Red Deer; and TransAlta.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>ix</sup> Capital Power has the endorsement of the Generators Group, comprised of the following members: TransAlta; Capital Power Corporation; ENMAX Corporation; and ATCO Power.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>xi</sup> URICA has the endorsement of the Distributed Generation Working Group which is comprised of the following members: Elemental Energy; Keyera Energy; Dunhill Power Corporation; Genalta Power; Liberty Power; Signalta Resources Limited; Berkshire Hathaway Energy Canada; Northstone Power; EQUS REA Limited; Irrigation Canal Power Co-op Ltd (IRRICAN)).